2011 Harvey Award Winners

Saturday night here in Baltimore the Harvey Awards were handed out! The Harvey Awards started in 1988, awarding outstanding achievements in over 20 categories. Baltimore has been hosting the awards banquet since 2005. Here are the 2011 winners!

Best Syndicated Strip or Panel: “Doonesbury,” Garry Trudeau, Universal Press Syndicate

Best Online Comics Work: ”Hark! A Vagrant,” Kate Beaton


Best Cartoonist: Darwyn Cooke, RICHARD STARK’S PARKER: THE OUTFIT, IDW

Best Colorist: Jose Villarrubia, CUBA : MY REVOLUTION, Vertigo/DC Comics

Best Inker: Mark Morales, THOR, Marvel Comics

Best Letterer: John Workman, THOR, Marvel Comics

Best Writer
: Roger Langridge, THOR: THE MIGHTY AVENGER, Marvel Comics

Best Cover Artist: Mike Mignola, HELLBOY, Dark Horse Comics

Most Promising New Talent: Chris Samnee, THOR: THE MIGHTY AVENGER, Marvel Comics

Best New Series: AMERICAN VAMPIRE, Scott Snyder, Stephen King and Rafael Albuquerque, Vertigo/DC Comics

Best American Edition of Foreign Material: BLACKSAD, Juan Diaz Canales and Juanjo Guarnido, Dark Horse Comics

Special Award for Humor in Comics: Roger Langridge, THE MUPPET SHOW, BOOM! Studios

Best Original Graphic Publication for Younger Readers: TINY TITANS, Art Baltazar and Franco Aureliani, DC Comics

Best Graphic Album, Previously Published: BEASTS OF BURDEN: ANIMAL RITES, Evan Dorkin and Jill Thompson, Dark Horse Comics

Best Anthology: POPGUN # 4, edited by D.J. Kirkbride, Anthony Wu and Adam P. Knave, Image Comics

Best Domestic Reprint Project: DAVE STEVENS’S THE ROCKETEER: ARTIST’S EDITION, designed by Randall Dahlk & edited by Scott Dunbier, IDW

Best Biographical, Historical or Journalistic Presentation: THE ART OF JAIME HERNANDEZ: THE SECRETS OF LIFE AND DEATH, edited by Todd Hignite, Abrams ComicArts

Special Award, Excellence in Presentation: DAVE STEVENS’ THE ROCKETEER: ARITIST’S EDITION, designed by Randall Dahlk & edited by Scott Dunbier, IDW

Best Original Graphic Album: SCOTT PILGRM VOLUME 6: SCOTT PILGRIM’S FINEST HOUR, Bryan Lee O’Malley, Oni Press

Best Continuing or Limited Series: LOVE AND ROCKETS: VOLUME 3, Jaime and Gilbert Hernandez, Fantagraphics

Best Single Issue or Story
: DAYTRIPPER, Fabio Moon and Gabiel Ba, Vertigo/DC Comics

Special Award: to Paul McSpadden, Harvey Award Administrator, presented by Denis Kitchen.

Hero Initiative Dick Giordano Humanitarian of the Year: Mike Gold, presented by Mark Wheatley

Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award: Stan Lee, presented by Mark Waid

If you’re wondering how The Harvey Awards work:

The Harvey Awards are presented annually to those creators and publications that receive the most votes from their peers in the comics industry. At the beginning of each year, nominating ballots are sent to comics professionals and publishers. Qualifying professionals are able to nominate up to five entries in each category. The top five nominees, plus ties, in each category are placed on the final ballot, which is mailed in the Spring. Final ballots are returned one month later and the votes are tabulated. Winners are announced each year at the Harvey Awards banquet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s